A Year of Firsts: Facing fears, Wiping Tears & Jumping For Joy

Facing Fears

Racing heart, sweaty palms, clenched teeth ; See the picture above? Exactly . . . This is how I face my fears. This image of my daughter, Charlotte, is a great visual representation of me stepping out in faith this year. She hangs there, scared to death, almost in tears, struggling with everything in her, but she refuses to let her fear immobilize her. Would she succeed, would she fail? She didn't know. It was her first time on a jungle-gym. She trusts in me. Mama is right there ready to catch her or kiss a boo-boo. That trust coupled with determination is what has her hanging there. This year is full of many firsts. There is fear. fear of failing massively. Fear of putting myself out there. to be judged and rejected. Fear that I absolutely had to start conquering with blind faith. God didn't lead me to where I am to watch me freeze in fear. All I knew is that I wanted whatever He had for me. WiII I succeed ? I don't  know But, I am determined and trust in Him, to catch me or Kiss my boo-boo. 

Wiping Tears

So with all of these firsts ( which I will get to in a moment), things have been extremely bittersweet. All my life I have been seen with a camera in- hand. My absolute favorite thing to do. My mother was my greatest cheerleader! She always just knew that I would become a photographer. Even after I told her I would never do it professionally - "strictly hobby, Mama". I would tell her. She shook her head and would say, "uh-huh!"(with that sarcasm that I knew so well). She was sure of me and I was sure she was crazy. Remember that fear I just told you about? yeah! Last year, after a long battle with sickness, My cheerleader left me. She passed. My heart, friend, my mama was gone. And now, a year and a half later, as I embark on my year of many firsts, My cheerleader only cheers in my heart. With all the Joy that these firsts, comes a great sadness.  I do not get to share with my favorite lady..  Many tears - tears of great joy and of great pain.

Jumping For JOY

So, in the midst of conquering my fears & crying a river, I have got to know great JOY!!! Joy like no other. I'm talkin' Jumping, squealing, shouting, praising, dancing, over-the-top JOY!  I have gotten to experience things most people don't. I have had amazing opportunities to be apart of some pretty special goings on. I cannot believe where God has taken me. I am in awe at what all is going on !  Just wow. My heart sings. 

"The Joy of the Lord Is My Strength". How true this is.  

I cannot see ahead of me and I do not know what lies in store but I do know that there is no fear & no tears, to come that will keep me from the JOY! 

"FIRSTS" : This BLOG! ( THIS IS MY FIRST EVER BLOG..THANKS FOR HANGING IN THERE)-  Growing ( off the mother's milk..stepping it up)- - SMASH CAKE SESSIONS!!!!-Girl Scouts (got to teach some basics ) - show support sessions (sisters vs.Cancer)- senior portraits (congrats class of 2016!!!) -Weddings!!! (YES IT'S A YEAR OF WEDDINGS!!!)   now we pause..... ok now... Dance with me!!!


Click To Share On Social Media

Write a comment

Comments: 6
  • #1

    Alyse (Thursday, 09 June 2016 14:36)

    Tegan,
    I am proud of you for stepping out of your skin and doing something that you were not sure you were comfortable doing. I think your mother would be proud of all that you have accomplished so far. From where you came from to who you are know, I know you will do wonders. Keep it up boo!

  • #2

    Hannah (Thursday, 09 June 2016 18:24)

    This looks amazing. I know your mother would be so proud of you. You've come so far with photography and everything else in life, it's inspirational. I'm blessed to know you and see how far you've come! Don't stop believin'. (:

  • #3

    Mr. (Thursday, 09 June 2016 20:59)

    Tegan, I have always known you have greatness within you.. in fact we all do. Our mission (should we choose to accept it.) is to find God's path and will for our life.. please let me be the first to congratulate you on doing so. I am so happy that you are by my side and even happier that you have found joy in what God has you doing! remember I'll always be in your corner come hail or high water ! your my favorite Photographer EVER! Love you!

  • #4

    engagement photography Toronto (Monday, 20 June 2016 05:52)

    Wow, I'm impressed with this post . Many of them are familiar to me as I look lots of pics myself. it’s good to see inspiring work by others.

  • #5

    Tegan Odum (Wednesday, 22 June 2016 16:11)

    Thank you all for suck kind words! Y'all are amazing!
    EPT- I appreciate that. :) Its amazing experience isn't it?!

  • #6

    https://portugalurlaub.tumblr.com/post/157029292697/arco-da-rua-augusta-lissabon (Friday, 10 March 2017 06:54)

    If you have a logo you love, Stockholm is a great fit. Its large Logo Area means your logo has a chance to be front and center.