Two Become One: Charles & Sonya - Ready To Tie The Knot

A Surprise Engagement

One beautiful, windy day I got to witness something beautiful. One soul pouring out his affection for his lady. - There was a picnic under a beautiful tree, followed by a song on an acoustic guitar. -Then it happened... the knee, the ring then " Will You Marry Me?" I know, super romantic right!?!?! I was beaming over it all since the groom to be, Charles, had came to me and asked me to capture this beautiful moment. 


How I Met the Bride and Groom To Be

I had met Charles quite some time ago (about 7-8 years ago). Him and my husband has picked around a bit on the guitar together. Who would have known years ago, what was to come?

I met sweet Sonya the day of the surprise engagement. Only slightly awkward at first. Once we got past the hello and "I was shooting you the whole time... Nice to meet you!" lol.

The more I get to know Sonya, the more I like her. Shes completely traditional with a hint of spunk that just makes you love her. I love to watch these two together. It seems as though they have been with each other for years but still so giddy. 

 


The Proposal

Like I said, I was beaming to do this. Charles had asked if I could also video the proposal. I had only one camera and not the first Idea how to photograph and video a surprise proposal. I contacted my friend at Alexandra Cline Photography and asked would she collaborate with me to make this moment memorable. She excitedly agreed, this must be done. She worked her magic with the video camera and I stuck to what I know, photos! 

 

We had to strategically plan this! Nothing, and I mean nothing could go wrong. 

We had Charles wired for this...yea no kidding, we had to have him wear mic under his shirt to feed the audio to Alexandra Cline Photography's camera. We couldn't have our voices over theirs, of course. Charles had told Sonya he wanted to take her out to picnic after church. Still don't know how she didn't see the mic. 

We were to arrive at the location prior to the engagement to look like innocent folks enjoying their day by the pond taking pictures like tourists or something. Thankfully there where others there fishing and really enjoying their day as innocent people, so we tried our best to blend.

I think we were just as nervous as the soon to be groom. We had to be Sneaky. 

He broke out his guitar and played an Adam Sandler favorite from The Wedding Singer that he had written and extra line to. How sweet is that folks?! Do you know how hard it is not to squeal during a surprise proposal by the way!?! After the song he dropped to his knee and out came the ring. I had to contain my excitement and be even more stealthy (not an easy task for me), as I made my way close to her. I had to ease up ever so slowly. If she would have turned around and saw me it would have been really bad to say the least! I zoomed in with the lens and wanted to squeal again. To see the way she was looking at him, and him at her. " Did you ask Daddy?" she asked. ( I almost melted right there, people!) a nod yes, and she was in his arms with a "YES!!!". I cannot express what my heart was doing in this moment. I was over the top. Moments like these is why I do what I do. To capture an memory, to " still time" for a moment to be remembered. Just WOW!!! 

Engagement

I had the joy of shooting Charles & Sonya's Engagement Session. I had a blast. We shot in Madison, a beautiful town in Georgia that I happen to love very much.

I had a blast. These two are up for anything and didn't mind getting wet to do some fun photos by the fountain. 

after the engagement session I was asked to shoot the wedding!!!! can you believe it? I was floored! It is my pleasure to be working with such great couple. We have been talking and planning and "Pintresting". Now we are only 3 weeks from the big day. I am so very excited for these two and their future and I am grateful to be apart of such great memories and I am elated that I get the honor of capturing these two becoming one!  


Stay Tuned ....

 Vist Still My Soul Photography to see more of Charles & Sonya soon.

share this blog

to subscribe

Write a comment

Comments: 0